About RÅC

The Röntgen-Ångström-Cluster (RÅC) is a bilateral, scientific cluster that bases on a Memorandum of Understanding between Sweden and Germany signed in 2009. Both countries are committed to work together very closely on utilizing synchrotron and neutron radiation in the fields of materials research and structural biology. Research in this area is mostly funded by the governments of Germany and Sweden. In addition, some activities are funded by the German Federal States. Please click here to learn about the funding guidelines.

RÅC is run by a Steering Committee consisting of seven German and seven Swedish representatives meeting twice a year. Ulf Karlsson, Professor of the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, heads the Swedish side. Dr. Jürgen Kroseberg of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research in Berlin, heads the German side. For more info on members of the Steering Committee, please click here.

The name „Röntgen-Ångström-Cluster“ derives from Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, a German physicist who discovered X-radiation for the first time, and Anders Jonas Ångström, a Swedish physicist and one of the founders of spectroscopy.